Submitted for Town Board Approval, September 25, 2000




Municipal Complex - Assembly Room

Wednesday, August 23, 2000


Agendas with resolutions were posted at the Municipal Complex, Fire Station 40, Utility District, Appleton Public Library, Menasha Public Library, and Neenah Public Library.

                                                        I.            CALL TO ORDER, PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE AND ROLL CALL

Town Chair Arden Tews called the Special Meeting of the Town Board of Supervisors to order at 4:30 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Sprague noted the roll as follows:


Arden Tews, Town Chair        Bob Sprague, Supervisor #2 

Jerry Jurgensen, Supervisor #3          Roger Clark, Town Attorney

Carlene Sprague, Town Clerk            Carl Sutter, Town Engineer

John Claypool, Town Attorney            Patrick DeGrave, Administrator

Myra Piergrossi, Dir. of Finance         George Dearborn, Dir. of Com. Dev. 

Steve Laabs, Wastewater Supr.        Jeff Roth, Water Superintendent



Jeanne Krueger, Supervisor #1


            Dave Wagner (Ehlers & Assoc.)       

Jim Snyder, Atty. Valley Gateway

John Zaborsky


                                                      II.            DISCUSSION

Administrator Patrick DeGrave -

Administrator DeGrave provided an overview of a proposal made by Valley Gateway regarding the infrastructure construction of Gateway Meadows Subdivision (see attached) and an amendment to the Town’s original agreement with Valley Gateway. He stated that the developer would like to proceed this year. He also provided financial information regarding the potential tax impact in the Town.

The first agreement does not include the infrastructure for Gateway Meadows. In the first agreement, the legal description included the subdivision. This agreement would need to be rewritten in order to proceed with the second, due to the fact that the subdivision is included in the legal description. The obligation would remain the same in the first agreement and the subdivision would be written out.

The second Agreement is financially sound, as long as you subscribe to rewriting the first agreement.

Dave Wagner of Ehlers & Associates –

Dave Wagner stated that the value of the development was to have reached twelve million dollars as of January 1st of 2001.

Attorney Jim Snyder, representing Valley Gateway

Attorney Snyder provided an overview of proposed development, which is scheduled to be completed in the near future.

Attorney Roger Clark

Attorney Clark stated that we need to look at increased value, not face value of this property.

Attorney Snyder

Attorney Snyder stated that we would like to come up with an agreement as soon as possible.

Much discussion ensued.

George Dearborn, Dir. Community Development -

George stated there are two issues. 1) Single-family development would be encouraged, which is what Town residents want. 2) It encourages the developer to promote single-family construction.

Attorney Clark –

The decision is whether you want to commit the first 10 years of Town tax from value added to pay debt service. The agreement is very sound.

Attorney John Claypool –

Attorney Claypool stated that the TB would have to adopt an amendment to the current Ordinance. It would give the TB the authority on a case by case basis to enter into the terms and conditions of an agreement, which is in the public’s interest.

Chairman Tews –

Chairman Tews suggested a retail commercial commitment clause.

Attorney Snyder –

Attorney Snyder – There is a five-year commitment at this time.

Supervisor Bob Sprague –

I feel comfortable as long as all of the assumptions are in place.

Chairman Tews –

Chairman Tews stated we have always looked at increased development in the Town in order to keep the tax levy law.

It was the consensus of the Town Board to draft a preliminary resolution to allow staff to move forward.

                                                    III.            ADJOURNMENT

At 5:20 p.m., MOTION: Supervisor Sprague, second Supervisor Jurgensen to adjourn the special meeting of the Town Board of Supervisors. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Carlene L. Sprague

Town Clerk