Submitted for Town Board Approval May 7, 2001





Regarding Cold Spring Rd. Improvement/Storm Sewer/Rec. Trail

Municipal Complex - Assembly Room

Monday, April 30, 2001




Agendas with resolutions were posted at the Municipal Complex, Fire Station 40, Utility District, Appleton Public Library, Menasha Public Library, and Neenah Public Library.


I.                    CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Tews called the Public Hearing to order at 6:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Clerk Krueger noted the roll as follows:


Arden Tews, Town Chair                     Jeanne Krueger, Town Clerk

Jerry Jurgensen, Supervisor #3         Carl Sutter, McMahon & Assoc.

Russ Handevidt, Supervisor #4          Ben Hamblin, McMahon & Assoc.

Patrick DeGrave, Administrator          George Dearborn, Dir. of Com. Dev.   

Randy Gallow, Street Supt.

EXCUSED:  Bob Sprague, Supervisor #2


ALSO PRESENT:                  John Geiger                          Vi Voigt

Harlen Voigt                          Bob Gorges                           Kate Gressler          

Tim Gressler                         Brian Buksyk                         Tracy Buksyk

John B. Hunt                         David Young                         LeeAnn Johnson

Denis Danielsen                   Grace Danielsen                   Lloyd Pringnitz

Don Thiel                               Steve Hetzel                         Joyce Boardman

Kari Boardman                      Tom Danz                              Julie Sipiorski

Steve Sipiorski                     Travis Schlegel                    Melissa Schlegel

Michael Klassen                   Mark Diersen                         Bob Meyer

Gina Bayer                             Bob Flottemesch                  Dana LaMotte

Michael Borchard                 Joel Newcomb                      Nada Newcomb

Pat Harvath                           Scarlet Harvath                     Todd Pingel

Jim Kriho                               Gerald Anderson                  Dion Rasmussen

Arun Chatterji                        Manjari Chatterji                   Mike Susor

John Scudder                       David Hildebrand                 Lila Sevilla

Carlos Sevilla                        Sharon Wohlrabe                  Mike Negro

Cheryl Hentz/Media Reporter




Town Engineer Carl Sutter explained the scope of the project to the residents including widening of the road, storm sewers and the recreational trail and pointed out the most important factor for the needed improvements was the safety of the residents.

He also explained the drainage issues, problems with sump pumps, dangerous ditches, needed sewer and swale system and the narrow roadway being identified as a major collector that carries 2,766 vehicles daily.  He went on to explain that the recreational trail would be located on the west side of the roadway and would be built 10’ in width. 

Mr. Sutter also stated the roadway assessment was a 50/50 split with the old policy however, the new policy requires residents only pay the costs of curb and gutter.  Residents are also given the option of paying for the project in 2002 upon completion or in a ten-year period and, if approved by the town board, the mile-long project would start approximately June of this year and be completed with all improvements by next year.


Resident Vi Voigt questioned the ownership of the culverts and had been told they belong to the homeowners.

Resident David Hildebrand, along with other town residents, felt the assessment to the homeowners was inappropriate and should be paid entirely by the Town of Menasha.


Resident Bob Mayer suggested that bike riders purchasing tags pay for the trail.

Resident Dana LaMotte stated she used the bike path everyday, however, felt the assessment should be borne by the entire township.

Resident Dan Danielsen felt the new improvements would only increase traffic and speed.

Residents Lloyd Pringnitz, Don Theil and John Geiger related of standing water in their back yards.  They were told that their pumps could be integrated into the front lateral with little or no difficulty.


Resident Bob Mayer questioned the maintenance and was told by Chairman Tews that, at this point in time, the trails are not maintained with the exception of the Spring Rd. school area trails for the safety of the students.

Resident Steve Sipiorski, along with other neighbors, stated he supported the trails, however, felt the assessment should be spread out area-wide.


Several residents complained about the 25 m.p.h. speed limit not being enforced and the various speed limits in the area possibly confusing drivers on the posted speed.  Chairman Tews stated he would talk to the town police department regarding this although reminded the citizens that speed limits are set by the state.


Resident Carlos Sevilla complained about not being able to accept his certified letter and requested both certified and regular letters be sent to residents.


Being no more comments, Chairman Tews closed the Public Hearing at 7:43 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,



Jeanne Krueger, Certified Municipal Clerk